Traffic Court Information
Traffic Court is held every Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. You must check-in no later than 8:15 a.m. If you are late, you will be re-scheduled for the next session. YOU WILL BE RE-SCHEDULED ONE TIME ONLY. IF YOU ARE LATE MORE THAN ONCE, YOU WILL BE DEEMED TO HAVE FAILED-TO-APPEAR FOR YOUR COURT DATE and a bench warrant may issue for your arrest.
YOU SHOULD BE PREPARED TO PAY YOUR FINE IN FULL ON YOUR COURT DATE. Only in rare instances will the Court allow an extension of time in which to pay the fine.
If you choose to pay your fine without seeing a judge, you may pay by cash, cashier's check, money order, personal check or credit card (either at the Court or see below). The judge will see you in the order of arrival so it is to your benefit to arrive earlier.
In addition to appearing in person, the Court has recently introduced a new Virtual Traffic Court Program which allows defendants to appear remotely without the requirement of appearing in Court in person for their traffic arraignment. For more information about the Virtual Court Program, please click here.
Traffic School Information
Traffic School may be an option for you. The following steps will be used by the Court to determine if you are eligible for Traffic School or must make an appearance before a Judge.
- Your citation has only 1 moving violation that does not carry more than 4 demerits.
- You have not attended Traffic School within 1 year from the date this citation was issued.
- You have not had a traffic related offense within 1 year from the date this citation was issued.
- Your citation does not involve an accident.
- If you do not meet this criteria, you must either appear on your Court date or pay the fine/forfeit the bail by the Court date.
- If eligibility is determined, the Certificate of Completion of Traffic School is due approximately 60 days from the date the Motion was approved.
- The fine will remain the same as stated on the citation and will be paid at the time the Certificate of Completion of Traffic School is presented to the Court.
There is a $25.00 administrative fee to be paid to the Court to sign up for traffic school. All traffic schools must be approved by the Nevada DMV. Click here for a list of DMV approved traffic programs.
Paying Your Fine
- If you choose to pay your fine without seeing the judge, you may pay by cash, cashier's check, money order, personal check or credit card (see below). If you are sending in a check, please make it out to "Incline Justice Court" and send it to 865 Tahoe Blvd., Suite 301, Incline Village, Nevada. Please be advised that third-party checks cannot be accepted by the Court.
- If you plead not guilty you will be required to attend a pre-trial conference with a Deputy District Attorney to determine whether your citation can be dealt with without going to trial. If the citation is not resolved at the pre-trial conference, a trial date will be set and you will be required to appear for trial on that date. If you are in custody, you will not attend a pre-trial conference and the case will be immediately set for trial.
- If you plead guilty you will waive certain of your constitutional rights including the right to an attorney, the right to remain silent, the right to a speedy trial, the right to confront and cross-examine witnesses against you, the right to subpoena witnesses on your behalf and compel their attendance at hearings and at trial and the right to require the State of Nevada to prove the charges against you beyond a reasonable doubt. With a guilty plea, you are admitting that you did what it is that you have been accused of.
- If you plead no contest, again, you waive your rights but you are not admitting to doing what it is you have been accused of. If you plead no contest you are not making an admission of guilt and so that cannot be used against you in a civil case.
To pay your citation online, click here.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Am I eligible for a Public Defender?
- Probably not. Generally, you are only eligible for a public defender if you are facing jail time for a criminal action.
- How many demerit points are different citations on my driver's license?
- Go to the DMV website to find Demerit Point Values for varying offenses. http://www.dmvnv.com/dlpoints.htm
- I was cited for "no proof of insurance." I had insurance just not in the car with me when I was stopped. Do I have to wait until my court date to provide proof of insurance?
- No. You can bring an original proof of insurance card to the court before your court date. It is advised that you wait at least four (4) weeks after the date of your citation to make sure the Court has received the paperwork from the citing agency. There is a $30.00 processing fee for failing to have the proper documents in the vehicle to present to the officer.
- If I need a Spanish interpreter will one be provided by the court?
- At the end of the court session, an interpreter will be available to interpret your conversation with the judge.
- What is the difference between no contest and guilty?
- If you plead no contest you will be found guilty of the offense by the court but as you have not made an admission of guilt, if a civil suit is brought against you for the same event your plea cannot be used against you in that civil matter.